Redneck Risotto

Okay, so I know I preach a lot about making things from scratch, but sometimes that just ain’t an option. Sometimes The sink is already full of dishes and you haven’t eaten all day. Sometimes it’s been a while since the grocery store happened and the money is drying up. But you’re hungry. Real hungry. Like, stuff me full of carbs so I can fall into a carbohydrate-induced hibernation-type slumber afterwards.

Yah, one of those days.

Many lowly twenty-somethings like myself turn to comfort foods we ate, or weren’t allowed to eat in access growing up. I turn to this. I grew up with my mom calling it Souper Rice. I makes me smile just thinking about it. Being a kid you find joy in the simplest things, you know? I used to beg for this in grade school. It was a special thing and I just thought it was the greatest Friday surprise ever. And it was.

Now, I have taken my mother’s Souper Rice Recipe and tweaked it (as is tradition) and therefore have re-christened my version: Redneck Risotto. Where my mom would use a can of cream of mushroom soup and a can of water, I use my Homemade Chicken Stock, a little bouillon, and of course, it wouldn’t be easy if I didn’t use the cream of mushroom soup.

So, besides the chicken stock, this is literally all you need:

needs.edit

Rice (my mom says the instant rice is better, but I like my Uncle Ben’s , and I literally always have this on hand), one can of cream of mushroom soup, one bouillon cube flavor of your choice (I had beef already), and one can full of chicken stock plus like a tablespoon extra. And THAT’S IT. And you need one medium-sized pot.

So really the only labor-intensive thing you need to do is heat up the broth and dissolve as much of the bouillon cube in it as you have time/patience for. It will always melt while the rice is cooking anyway.

stock.edit

Now, you open your can of cream of mushroom and dump it into a pot. Next, pour rice into the can to measure.

*Let me take a second to bestow some knowledge upon you.*
Anytime you cook regular rice, it’s a 2:1 ratio, meaning one part rice to two parts liquid. Take this information and run with it! This is one of those method knowledge tidbits I use all the time to tweak and add flavor to regular old recipes.

That being said, dump measured rice into the pot with the soup. Now, pour the stock into the can and dump it into the pot. Putting the stock into the can helps get out those little grains of rice stuck to the thick soup in the can, as well as getting the left behind bit of soup that didn’t get scraped out. Now, for this recipe, since the cream of mushroom soup is pretty thick and our rice is going to cook for 20 mins, we want to add a little more liquid to the mix to keep everybody lubricated. (Ya. I said lubricated.) Otherwise the rice would stick to the bottom of the pan and burn during cooking. So I add a few extra tablespoons of stock. Mix it all up so the rice is all incorporated into the mix. It should look something like this:

indapot.edit

Excuse my dirty stove. Like I said, dishes in the sink and all that.

Now, follow your rice’s package directions for cooking. Mine tells me to bring the rice up to a boil, then down to a simmer for twenty minutes, covered.

lid

And like we discussed earlier, this is a thick mess, so I know your granny told you not to uncover rice while it’s cooking, but I PROMISE. It’s gonna be okay. Take the lid off and stir it occasionally during the covered phase, otherwise the rice will stick on the bottom and burn and burnt rice ain’t good.

So, if you did everything right, after 20 minutes, you should have something like this.

finished.edit

TA-DA! Redneck Risotto. Creamy, filling, and savory. And since we made it with stock, it will be super filling.

Serve with some Slap Ya Mama

serve.edit

Somethings that may be really good if you’re feelin’ squirrely, maybe a bay leaf during cooking? And if you had some leftover chicken you could shred it of slice it and throw it in the pot right before you turn the rice to a simmer.

Disclaimer, pleased do not attempt this in a rice cooker. I do not own one, and I don’t know how they work, so I do not want to be responsible for breaking yours. Okie Doke? Thanks.

Y’all enjoy this one. I’m not even writing a formal recipe for this one because who are we kidding?

With love always,

Rosie

Leave a Reply

