Hash and Dash

For my first post as Rosie, I would like to divulge a little about myself, reckless though that may be, I feel it is necessary for you to understand my recipes/advice/etc.

Firstly, I love to cook.
And by that I mean I’m a damn hippie food snob deep on the inside, but broke and slightly overweight on the outside. I love making things as close to from scratch as I can, because in doing so, I think it’s easier to learn how a recipe works and how to make it my own. Most of my recipes are methods. To anyone that asks me to teach them to cook, I always tell them I’ve never really made the same thing twice, because I believe that to make something people will remember, you have to put some love in it and, quite frankly, that love changes based on my mood. So, every recipe is a little different each time I make it. To really learn to cook, you must first learn what good food tastes like, then make your food taste like that. But more on that later.

Second, I’m a gardener.
Novice though I may be, I love this hobby. In my gardening posts, I plan on keeping somewhat of a garden journal for other novice gardeners like myself, maybe I can help someone out. Although to some extent, gardening is a trial and error/guess and check sort of hobby, so some things you really must discover for yourself.

Third, I’m a twenty-something.
The third aspect of this blog is me finding my path in life. I haven’t quite found my niche, but I’m getting there. I’m doing life on here, folks, and it ain’t always cute. But here goes nothing.

 

First Recipe of the New Blog is…

Sweet Potato, Sage, and Shiitake Hash

Hashsanddash1

Yield: 4 Servings Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb Maple Sausage
  • 1 Red -OR- yellow onion, sliced
  • 6 fresh sage leaves, chiffinade
  • 7-10 cloves roasted garlic (or a whole head)
  • 1 stick of butter, halved
  • 1 lb Skiitake mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup red wine (optional)
  • 3-4 large sweet potatoes, cubed
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock
  • fried or poached eggs (for serving)
  • smoked paprika (for serving)

Start by browning sausage in you heaviest-bottomed skillet or even a dutch oven would be better. After the sausage is browned, remove from skillet with a mesh spider and set aside, leaving the drippings behind in the pan.

Reduce heat to medium high and add sliced onions and caramelize by frying and stirring occasionally until they are soft and a light caramel color. Add sage leaves, half the stick of butter, the roasted garlic, and the sliced mushrooms. Saute together until the mushrooms soften. Add the red wine to deglaze the pan once it starts to get brown on the bottom. Once the wine has evaporated, remove everything from the pan and set aside.

Using the same pan on medium heat, add the other half of the stick of butter. It will foam up and begin to brown, BUT NOT BURN. If it starts to smoke rather than steam, remove the pan from the heat and swirl the butter until the smoke stops. If it gets to burnt, you may have to start the brown butter over. But, once the butter is a little brown, add the cubed sweet potatoes, and coat in the butter. brown the potatoes for about 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then, add the chicken stock and cover, stirring maybe once or twice, but not for the first 5 minutes. The steam will cook the potatoes in about 10-15 minutes, depending on how big your cubes are. Test the potatoes with a fork. If it pushes in easily, they are done.

Once the potatoes are done, add back in the sausage and the onion-mushroom mixture. stir so everything is evenly incorporated, and heat on medium low until everything is heated through.

To serve, add a heaping serving of the hash to a shallow bowl, and top with either a fried or poached egg, and finish with a dash of smoked paprika.

 

 

So there you have it, folks! My first Rosie original recipe. I hope you enjoy! I’d love to hear if you tweaked or changed anything in the comments section.

Rosie

Leave a Reply

